CAHIIM Accredited HIM & HI Programs in California

Intro
no
column-1
30px

California’s health information management (HIM) and health information technology (HIT) programs continue to meet the demands of the health care industry and evolving environment by offering accessible and affordable degreed programs and certificates in health information, health informatics, coding, cancer registry and other related fields. 

California’s health information programs aim to reach students wherever they live. These California-based Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management (CAHIIM)-accredited colleges and universities are offered in a variety of formats to meet individual needs.

View CAHIIM-accredited programs for a searchable directory of programs, including online programs.

journalFor the annual Focus on Education issue of the July/August 2020 CHIA Journal, CHIA asked CAHIIM-accredited colleges and universities to share what’s new and exciting, how they pivoted to provide distance education, and what opportunities lay ahead for the HIM community’s emerging professionals.

Read the article excerpt Focus on Education: Expanding Opportunities for California's Emerging Professionals

 

CAHIIM Accredited Programs in California
yes
columns-2
0px

Ashford University
Program: Baccalaureate
Format: Online
Program Director: Michelle Cranney, DHSc, RHIA, CCS-P, CPC, CPB, CPMA
Phone: (800) 798-0584, Ext. 21850
Email: michelle.cranney@ashford.edu
8620 Spectrum Center Blvd 
San Diego, CA 92123

 

City College of San Francisco
Program: Associate
Format: Campus and Online
Program Director: Wanda Ziemba, EJD, MFA, RHIA, CCS, CHC, CHCO/CHCC, CPC
Phone: (415) 561-1818
Email: wziemba@ccsf.edu
1860 Hayes Street
San Francisco, CA 94103

Cosumnes River College
Program: Associate
Format: Online
Program Director: Kristen Borth, MS, RHIA
Phone: (916) 691-7452
Email: borthk@crc.losrios.edu
8401 Center Parkway
Sacramento, CA 95823-5704

 

Cypress College
Program: Associate
Format: Campus and Online
Program Director: Patricia Spitler, RHIA, FABC, BS
Phone: (714) 484-7308
Email: pspitler@cypresscollege.edu
9200 Valley View Street
Cypress, CA 90630

East Los Angeles College
Program: Associate
Format: Campus
Program Director: Monica Thurston, MBA, RHIA
Phone: (323) 780-6802
Email: thurstmm@elac.edu
1301 Avenida Cesar Chavez
Monterey Park, CA 91754

 

Loma Linda University
Program: Baccalaureate
Format: Campus and Online
Program Director: Pauline Calla Cabanada, MBA, RHIA
Phone: (909) 558-4976
Email: pcalla@llu.edu
1905 Nichol Hall
Loma Linda, CA 92350

Saddleback College
Program: Associate
Format: Online
Program Director: Safiah Mamoon, MS, RHIA, CPC
Phone: (949) 582-4974
Email: smamoon@saddleback.edu
28000 Marguerite Parkway
Mission Viejo, CA 92692

San Diego Mesa College
Program: Associate and Baccalaureate
Format: Campus and Online
Program Director: Connie Renda, MA, RHIA, CHDA
Phone: (619) 388-2606
Email: crenda@sdccd.edu
7250 Mesa College Drive
San Diego, CA 92111

 

Santa Barbara City College
Program: Associate
Format: Online
Program Director: Janet Robertson, RHIA
Phone: (805) 965-0581, Ext. 3451
Email: robertso@sbcc.edu
721 Cliff Drive
Santa Barbara, CA 93109

Shasta College
Program: Associate and Baccalaureate
Format: Online
Program Director: Andrew Dowgiert, MS, RHIA
Phone: (530) 339-3606
Email: adowgiert@shastacollege.edu
11555 Old Oregon Trail
Redding, CA, 96049

Fresno City College (Inactive)
Program: Associate
Format: Online
Program Director: Sarah Edwards, MA, RHIA
Phone: (559) 244-2641
Email: sarah.edwards@fresnocitycollege.edu
1101 E. University Avenue
Fresno, CA 93741

Bakersfield College (in CAHIIM Candidacy)
Program: Associate
Format: Online
Program Director: Heather Shaffstall, RHIA
Phone: (661) 395-4961
Email: heather.shaffstall@bakersfieldcollege.edu
1801 Panorama Drive
Bakersfield, CA 93305